top of page
The Balkans Flags
THE BALKANS | May - June 2016


The Balkans consists of the most Southastern countries of Europe and are generally considered to include, in whole or in part, Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Greece, Kosovo, the Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia, Slovenia, and the European part of Turkey.  


The word 'Balkan' is Turkish, meaning 'wooded mountain' or 'black mountain'. With seemingly endless mountainous landscapes, splendid multicultural towns, beautiful lakes and forests and impressive monasteries and citadels spralled across hillsides, the Balkans are quickly becoming Europe's most sought after tourism destination. 


The region hosts exceptional diversity with an abundance of cultural aspects including very melancholic and joyous folk music, ancient mystical rituals, elaborate and unusual traditions and a multitude of festivals. Many fascinating customs are centuries old, some even dating back to ancient Rome.  The Balkans are also home to hundreds of miles of coastline on both the Adriatic and Black Seas, so beachgoers will also be pleasently suprised!


We hope to introduce you to one of the most unknown hidden gems in all of Europe as we immerse you in the traditions, culture and fascinating history of the Balkans.  


Please, come join us!

Journeys to the Balkans 2016
bottom of page