top of page

Download Bolivia Itinerary

Peru Flag


Until the 18th century, Sucre was the judicial, religious and cultural center of the region. In 1839, after the city became the capital of Bolivia, it was renamed in honor of the revolutionary leader Antonio José de Sucre. In 1898 the Bolivian seat of government moved to La Paz.


Sucre is listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The city attracts many foreign visitors every year thanks to its well-conserved downtown. The beautiful city of Sucre is the constitutional capital of Bolivia, seat of the Supreme Court, and capital of the department Chuquisaca. The town is located in the south-central part of the country and lies at an altitude of 2,750m (9,100 feet). Sucre is also been known as Chuquisaca, Charcas and La Plata, resulting in the nickname of ´the City of Four Names´. As most of the colonial buildings in the city center are whitewashed, the city also enjoys the nickname of ´the White City’ with buildings from the 18th and 19th century.


Some of the main attractions of Sucre are la Casa de la Libertad (House of Liberty) (where the declaration of independence of Bolivia was signed on the 6th of August 1825), the museum of La Recoleta (which also served as a convent, barracks, and prison) and many other museums, Palacio de la Glorieta (formerly an outstanding palace owned by a wealthy entrepreneur, it now serves as a military school). Even the local cemetery that manages to preserve the harmonious appearance, sumptuous burials and gardens with ancient trees make it a peaceful place to visit.


Very much a Spanish city during the colonial era, the narrow streets of the city center are organized in a grid, reflecting the Andalusian culture that is embodied in the architecture of the city's great houses and numerous convents and churches. 

Full Itinerary
bottom of page